Clutton Cox Club Champion at the Hogweed Trotters Awards 2010

Paul Hajek | 8 Feb 2011

Hogweed Trotters Running Club winners 2010

The 10th Annual Hogweed Trotters Running Club awards were held on Sunday 6th February in Horton near Chipping Sodbury.

As M.C. Anthony Febry recounted that we inhabited a different world 10 years ago when the club was formed: the price of a pint of beer was about £1.55, and if anyone had offered to show you their iPod Touch you would have probably retorted by punching them.

The afternoon culminated with the award of the Hogweed Trotters Club Champion to Dave Wintle (pictured with isotonic drink and Paul Hajek). Dave managed 10 marathons in 10 days all under 3 hours 28 minutes.Hogweed Trotter Club Champion 2010 Dave Wintle

The “Hogweeds” as they are known reward runners for excellence endeavour and whole-heartedness

At one end of the spectrum, there is the Novice award for runners new to the sport; this year won by Tracey Whawell, who joined the Friday night beginners/walking group and got hooked, to the other end of the spectrum the Peter Pan award, this year won by 76 years young Ross Mackenzie.

Sterling work was rewarded for performances during the year to Nicola Paice (Ladies Cross Country Performance); Jo Wood (Ladies Best Short Race); Hayley Brock (Ladies Best Half Marathon Performance); Kate Pinnington (Ladies Best Marathon Performance).

Amongst the men, performances were recognised by awards to Dave Gynn (Men’s Cross Country Performance); Shane Toogood (Men’s Half Marathon Champion); Dom Hurford ( Men’s Best Short Race Performance); Gary Stretton (The Men’s Marathon Award)

Ladies Champion Hogweed TrottersThe prominence of triathlon participation amongst club members was recognised by the Club’s Triathlete of the Year to Jo Wilson.

Congratulations were given to a Hogweed Trotter wedding between Club Secretary John Conway and Amanda Richardson.

Uniquely, amongst running clubs, the Hogweeds have some more unusual awards

The Laurence Award recognises a condition that baffles medical science. This year’s winner Kaye Hall managed a 40 mile ultra marathon, despite not “training that well” a couple of weeks earlier.

The Black Dog award went to Martin Cook: suffice it to say a leg of the Cotswold relay was negotiated and marked by a couple of falls, both in training and the race itself. A previous winner of the award repatriated an errant cow to the wrong farmer!

The Hogweeds Super Hero award went to Alan Wilcox, in recognition of his completing 55 races in 2010 from 5km to full marathon.Peter Pan Award Winner Hogweed Trotters 2010

The Founder Members Award sponsored by the club’s country retreat at the Beaufort Inn in Hawkesbury Upton went to Ali King. Ali enjoys epitomises the joys of running. Another recent convert from the Friday night beginners/walking group, and an ever- present at the club, she made remarkable progress in 2010 by not only running a half marathon, but a full marathon. Ali’s is an exceptional success story which has made every one at the club very proud.

The awards were once again very well organised and an event which grows year on year.

A special mention to Chairman Bob Bell for compiling the list of nominees and help with the script; for Will Gray for revealing the award winners; and for Honorary Club President Colin Axford for handing over the prizes and winning T-shirts, and not forgetting the tireless work of the committee Linda Morgan and Mark Wolf; the sound system by Daryl Hanson (available weekends and special functions); light show and doctoring of photographs and slides, Steve Chandler, and to all the various sponsors who kindly donated the prizes.

Keeping you up to date

Sign up and receive free resources and news straight to your inbox

Get Ship Shape!
Start Your Journey Now

Whatever stage of your Conveyancing journey you are on, we will guide you safely to your destination.